Journey to Freedom

Chukwudi Uraih, MBA
2 min readMar 8, 2020

--

So I want to do something that has impact. Something that helps people. Something that utilizes the gifts that I have received from the hard lessons that I have had in life. Something that the little voice in my head keeps telling me that “this is what you MUST DO”. That thing is getting financially free and showing others how to do the same so that they can start living the life they want and singing the song that they have been put on this earth to sing.

I don’t want to be in the rat race anymore. Every job that I have had has been a situation where money was the most important factor if not the only. I have migrated from broke student (high school, college and graduate school), Army Reserve soldier, Army officer, mechanical engineer and now management consultant. I am not to saying that there weren't some good things that came from these stages in my life, but I wouldn’t have done any of those jobs if I was not being paid. That being said, how do I escape the rat race? Better question is how do I escape the rat race soon? I want to have a career that I love and I see the impact and that is why I am working on becoming financially free and going to help people do the same.

So how does this career look like and what is the path to financial freedom? No clue. Regardless, I am taking one step at a time to become a Certified Financial Planner (CFP), investing exclusively in index funds, and buying real estate . The rough plan in my notebook and in my head is below:

  1. Find Good Mentors
  2. Study and pass the Securities Industry Essentials (SIE) Exam
  3. Study and pass the Series 65 Exam
  4. Start a RIA
  5. Fail, fail some more, keep failing (suck it up)
  6. Triumph

More to follow but for now, keep watching.

--

--

Chukwudi Uraih, MBA

I am a systems thinker who thinks he is a data scientist who wants to help you get financially free.